Springtime

It’s springtime here in northern Indiana. Yes, that’s right I said Indiana. It’s been a year and a half since I last posted here and its been a wild whirlwind of a year. In that time, I have traveled to South Africa to learn some wildlife medicine,  completed my didactic education in the Caribbean, moved to Indiana, started my clinical year of veterinary school at Purdue University, obtained an externship at a zoo in Tacoma, and taken my veterinary board exam. Deep breath.  I think that sums up the major points of my life the past seventeen months. I am sorry that I let this blog fall to the wayside, but I guess you will understand given what has occurred. (Not that you have a choice, my friends.)
Now this is a spiritual blog, and you don’t want to hear about my more mundane exploits, so on to the fun stuff. In the last year, spirituality has fallen to the wayside a bit as well. I kept an altar, I performed somewhat regular smudging rituals, I tended my small patch of herbs on my porch. I read a lot. I follow a lot of blogs and I kept up reading those. I became quite the “armchair pagan,” as vet school took as much free time and energy as I had to give. I’m not ashamed of that. Practice in the Caribbean is not easy. There is no nice, safe outdoor place to practice and having a roommate limits what can be done in the apartment. Not to mention a floor yoga and massive centipede incident. My meditation skills remained pretty sharp and that was the core of my practice there.
Now that’s all behind me. It’s spring and I’m back in America for good. I found a great new age shop down town that I will hopefully be frequenting called Castle-Brooks Spiritual Supply. It feels so good to watch the change of seasons again. I cannot express how much I have missed that. There aren’t any defined seasons in the Caribbean, so this is a wonderful change. my apartment complex has a small forest in the middle so I have watched the buds form on the trees and the new plants sprout from the leaf litter. Its absolutely wonderful.  As the season shifts, I can feel a shift in myself too. Its like a call back to those mysteries and practices that I had just scratched the surface of the end of my undergraduate education and the beginning of vet school. I find my feet firmly planted back at the mouth of that labyrinth, and I could not be more thrilled. I have been having some vivid dreams that I can just barely remember. My sketchbook has been calling my name like never before. I have had a couple constant visitors in my time back in the states and I would like to explore that relationship should it prove to be one.

imagesTurkey Vulture has been outside my window and over my apartment every day for the past several weeks. They just recently returned to the area from their winter migration and I think they have a roost nearby. I see them every day near my apartment wheeling and playing overhead. They always catch my eye when I am out running the neighborhood. Not sure yet what his significance is, but I have a good idea.

redtailRed-Tailed Hawk has also been a frequent visitor. I saw several when I was home with my family in Ohio, which I always thought to be a pretty rare sighting. Now I have found one who roosts near school who often shows fishing on the pond or swooping overhead when I hike from building to building. He is also a strong messenger, like the vulture. With time I will learn what I can from him.

I am not sure where this new path will lead, but I am extremely excited. The birds and the dreams all seem to be telling me to fly, and I plan on doing just that. I am still in school, so my free time is severely limited. But, having just taken my board exam, and having much less studying to do, I will be able to devote more of my free time to my spiritual path than I have for a long time. That makes me immensely happy. So I sit here tonight, listening to the night sounds out my window and burning some lovely, handmade Spirit Incense, and wonder where the labyrinth will turn next. I will do my best to keep you all posted. I have several posts in the making planned already and Ill leave a list of those below.

Posts to Come

– Working out and how that ties in to spirituality

– Organic/gmo rant

– Exploring Indiana

– My experiences in South Africa

– More artwork as I happen to make it

Thats all I have for you this evening, friends. I am sorry for the long wait and I promise that it will not be that long again.

Mitakuye oyasin

P.S. None of the pictures are mine. I stole them from wikipedia and explorenature.com

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

5 responses to “Springtime

  • Sheryll

    Sounds like you’ve been very busy. Sometimes, just a walk in the sunshine can bring you back to center. Good luck with your future endeavors. Blessed be.

  • S.C. Tanner

    It is good to hear from you after all this time. I also spent the last couple of years back in school, so I understand how this can “disrupt” other activities. I look forward to reading about your journey.

  • Iolair

    Thank you for the encouragement. It feels good to be back. I am very excited to continue exploring this wonderful path. School takes a lot more out of you than what most people think. But it is rewarding and totally worth it. Good luck to you in your ventures as well. I look forward to reading more.

  • Sarah

    So good to see words from you here again. It sounds like your life has been quite the adventure!

Leave a Reply

