2012 in review

2012 has been a hell of a year both spiritually and in mundane matters.  I am taking this day to look back at the year to think about what I have done and where I am now.

Mundanely, I have been quite busy. I got accepted to veterinary school, graduated from undergrad, worked as a camp counselor and a veterinary technician, traveled to the Caribbean and started vet school. I have moved into an apartment which will be my dwelling for the next two years of my life, I have read many books and learned so much.  Sitting down and thinking about all that has happened this year makes my head spin. I definitely feel like I have grown quite a lot.

Living in a developing country has absolutely made me a stronger and more thoughtful person. I am aware of just how spoiled we are in the United States. It is an eye opening experience to say the least. I consider myself very lucky to be experiencing this and the next two years will only hold more adventures.

The mundane stuff is all well and good, but I know we are all more interested in the witchy side of things. Spiritually, I have developed more in the past two years than I have ever done so. I realize that I am still very young and still have a long way to go, but I have grown by leaps and bounds. I feel different than I did. The shamanic path that I have been directed towards is the closest I have yet felt to something that makes my heart sing. I have grown deep roots and become a stronger and better person for the spiritual work that I have done. I am more grounded and in tune with myself and the land than I have ever been, and that is wonderful to me.  I still have a pull towards druidry and the craft, but those have been overshadowed by and assimilated into the other practice.  I still refuse to put labels to any of it as I am still learning and figuring out my niche and really have no need to slap a title on it for anyone.  I have learned that most of what I can do is tied deeply to the land and my connection therein. Daily meditations and grounding have become cornerstones of my practice. I have been told to not take everything too seriously and learn to laugh and have fun with my spirituality, and that was possibly the most important thing that I have learned recently.

So that is 2012 in review. Now, less than an hour before the ball drops here in the Caribbean, I am sending out my last post of 2012. It has been a great year. I hope that you all have an excellent and safe New Years celebration and that 2013 is a great year for all of you.

Blessings and best wishes!

 

Below I shared that fun little years review that WordPress sends us. I found it amusing and worth sharing since my little blog has gotten more traffic than I ever thought possible.  Thank you to all my followers and commenters. Keep the comments rolling in. I do love a good discussion.

Here’s an excerpt:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 5,600 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 9 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

9 responses to “2012 in review

  • Lon dubh

    I was meant to do my review of the year earlier today but got lazy and distracted by the ps3 lol (story of my life tbh) but I hopefully will have it up either later today or tomorrow at the latest. Glad to know that you are enjoying college life and the Island life in particular and that your are having improvements to your spiritual practice on a daily basis and hopefully may it continue for you with the year ahead to come 🙂

  • Steve Tanner

    “I am aware of just how spoiled we are in the United States.”

    I do not contest this statement. It makes me think that living in a developing country must facilitate your shamanic path and becoming in tune with the land, though. I view “becoming in tune with the land” as also becoming more grounded in reality. That being said, it should bring us full circle back to “just how spoiled we are in the United States.”

    I have enjoyed the fresh perspective of youth provided by your blog and look forward to more in the coming year. I think animal husbandry is a right proper trade for a shaman. I also do not find the craft or druidry far removed from shamanism. Having read the work of Michael Harner, and now studying the work of his student, Sandra Ingerman, I truly believe shamanism is the seed from which all future human religious and spiritual practices sprang. However, you show wisdom by not being concerned with labels. Your path is more important.

    I wish you abundant blessings and growth in this adventure your path has brought you to in the coming year. Blessed be.

    • Iolair

      I am very glad that you enjoy my blog. I always look forward to see what you have to say when you comment here. I enjoy your perspective very much.
      I read Harner’s book the beginning of this year and I found it very influential. It was definitely a step in the right direction for me and then I just purchased Sandra’s latest book Awakening to the Spirit World and that one has been great. I really want to read more from Sandra to hear more of her perspective once I am done with this one.

      • Steve Tanner

        “Awakening to the Spirit World” is excellent. I recommend “Medicine for the Earth” as perhaps your next read. It is a shorter book, but it is deep and intense. I have not found myself making my way through this volume any faster than “Awakening to the Spirit World.” In fact, as I am almost to the end, I am planning to reread it immediately.

      • Iolair

        Thank you for the recommendation. I actually just finished “Awakening to the Spirit World” the other night on an overnight at the clinic. Definitely need to reread that one to fully absorb it. I also put “Medicine for the Earth” on my wish list. That shall be my next purchase. It seems right up my alley.

  • Steve Tanner

    For exceptional content, I have nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. You may find out more about this award at: http://windingstream.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

