Update on Me

Well, as per usual, life gets in the way of the best laid plans. This summer has turned out to be anything but the witchfest that I had planned while I was still in Findlay.  I ended up with a full time job and a part time job and I work at least 55 hours per week, usually over 60. So by the time that I get home from work most nights, I am so exhausted that witchery is not the highest of priorities after working 13 hours in a day.  Some call me a workaholic, and I really cannot argue that point. It isn’t that I enjoy working this much. Most days it sucks, and I am neglecting a lot of things that I should not be neglecting. I do this because it is necessary to pay for the education required to follow my chosen path.  This hard work will be worth it one day, or at least that is what I keep telling myself to get through the weeks.

I have not done a pagan blog post in a month. I have an L in the works and an idea for an M, so I can at least get one post per letter.

I have not be doing a lot of journey work either. I had wanted to spend a lot of summer time doing just that, but I find it is extremely difficult to find time when I wont be disturbed. I have started dozens of them only to be interrupted by a parent or my brother.

I haven’t even had the time for much artwork. My sketchbook is sitting sadly on the shelf. I took it into my job one day to show my work to the kids and that is the first time it has been touched in a month. I have many designs in my head to get out when I have the time and energy.

The last and possibly saddest thing is that I do not have an altar here. I don’t have anywhere to set it up. Cernunnos is not happy just sitting on my headboard, but I make constant apologies because I just do not have anywhere else to keep him. I just make extra offerings every week to try and keep everybody as happy as possible without an altar.

So that is where I am. It is a rough summer and my last summer break ever, but I will make it through. And, in less than 2 months, I will be on a plane on my way to the Caribbean for Vet School. That is my goal, my shining star that keeps me going no matter how much the day may suck.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

4 responses to “Update on Me

  • Standing West

    Yep. Have to say I’ve found myself in somwehat of the same boat. The healing and ceremonial work’s been gaining momentum, while the day job keeps rolling along. I’m very blessed to have a job that allows me to work a permanent flex schedule (Monday through Thursday, every Friday off. And those three day weekends just keep booking themselves up! We’re already looking at appointments as far out as December.

    Sometimes it’s hard to hunker down in what you know to be a temporary situation. My wife keeps telling me to remember that I’m “being prepared” for what’s coming. And she’s right…Although sometimes when you’re in the thick of it, it’s hard to keep that in mind.

    Just remember to grab whatever time you can for yourself, however scarce that may be. Unless we keep ourselves fine tined, we can’t really be of any good to the rest of the world…

    • Iolair

      My only saving grace with the dual jobs is that the part time one is at a vet clinic so I do get job experience there and I am learning a lot. If it was another job I would probably be pretty miserable.
      It just bugs me that I have to put aside family, friends and spirituality just to get enough sleep at night that even that is questionable. I take any and all free time that I can get and use it. It keeps me sane

  • SpiderGoddes

    I, too, have done very little in the way of writing recently. My blog posts have definitely suffered,…but I have been in a very action-oriented mode. I am rolling with it.

    Good luck in Vet School!

    • Iolair

      I am sad that I haven’t been writing. It kills me sometimes when I have something to say, but just don’t have the time.
      The action mode started out well, but I am starting to burn out right now. I just need to make it 2 more months before I am done and off to Vet school.
      Thanks for the wishes. I appreciate it. I am so excited to get started. I’ve been working so long and hard for this, and it is finally here.

Leave a Reply

