Initial Work

For my second I post, I decided to write about the first ritual that I ever took part in. I still remember almost every detail, it stands out so vividly in my mind, and I think this was what really pushed me down this path.

I was a junior in High School. I had a small group of friends who were exploring the path. There was myself, Wolf, Bear, Owl and Nymph (all people have been given names to avoid incrimination).  We all got pretty close junior and senior year.  Nymph came up with the idea for this ritual. It was a beautiful summer night so we spent it outside in her parent’s yard.  Owl was out of town at this point in time so unfortunately she was not a part of this ritual.

Nymph coordinated what everyone should bring and planned out what we would do.  We brought food for an evening picnic and baked a loaf of bread special with flowers and cloves of garlic baked into the crust.  We set up an altar on an old cable spool out in her back yard. We draped a red cloth over the spool and set up a pentacle of green ribbon then put a bunch of candles over it to light our work as the sun went down.  Nymph acted as high priestess while Wolf, Bear and I worked as back up and were the hands for her.  It was a nice rite that we had written together before hand. It was a simple ritual, mostly for honoring the nature spirits around us.

I remember watching as Nymph started the speaking portion and watching the candle flames bend in her direction. I remember giving the bread as offering along with a helping of all of our food. We then closed the circle and danced around the fire for a bit. When we got tired we collapsed onto the lawn. We laid down into a circle with our heads in and relaxed in the cool night air. The trees and air were glowing with fireflies. I remembered watching the trees glitter as I laid in a haze with my friends nearby.  We meditated deeply together and spent most of the rest of the night there on the grass, just being in nature and with each other.

This was the first and last group ritual that I have ever been a part of.  It really was the start of my path. I had never done anything quite like that before that point, and I think that is what propelled me on further.  It was extremely meaninful to me, and I look upon it as a kind of initation for me.  Since that point, I have grown away from Wolf, Bear and Nymph and I think they have grown away from the craft, but I always look back on that night very fondly. For them, this was a phase. For me, it was the start of something amazing.  You all have read where I am today, and now you know where I started.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

One response to “Initial Work

  • SpiderGoddes

    Sounds lovely! I have been mainly solitary most of my life, but I now have a coven with two other amazing women. We have shared some amazing rituals!

    Thank you for posting and sharing this vision.

Leave a Reply

