Inspiration

One time, when I posted one of my PBPs on the facebook group, I was asked where I get my inspiration from. I decided that this would make an excellent blog post and since I am in need of an I post, here it is. Inspiration.

I am an artist. I use a lot of my artwork as a form of meditation and release. The artwork page of this blog is not extensive. You can hit the deviantArt link on the side to see all the artwork that I have posted on the interwebs. There is more but I have to photograph it. I will be doing that over the next couple weeks. Art has become a very important part of my spirituality. We all like to express ourselves in some way and my art is the most important outlet.  In the past year, my art has gone to the side to make room for school, and I am positive that it will do so even more when I get to Vet School, but I do what I can when I can.

So, now to the question. Where do I get my inspiration? What is the spark that lets me create the things that I create?  The short answer is that there is no simple answer.  My inspiration comes from various sources. Dreams, journeys, sometimes i just wake up with an image in my head, and then there are some that are my own take on other artworks that I have seen. Some inspirations comes from nature and some from ancient works.  It really is just a giant, messy hodge-podge of sources.  I don’t even remember the inspiration for some of my works.

I do see certain themes to my work though. It really depends what I was in to at the time. There are a lot of pentacles in my work, those started in a more wiccan phase of my path and I found that it was a design that I liked, so they continued on. I have not done another pentacle in a very long time.  I also had a tribal section, and I do not remember what triggered that. I did the boar when I was working with Boar to heal myself and that was inspired by pictish designs.  The small amount of work that I have done recently has been more spiritual to me. There is Cernunnos, who was really the biggest step down my current path and a lot of the artwork recently has been along those lines. Skulls, labyrinths, Awen designs, leaves, herbs.  My artwork has become more earthy as my path became more earthy. My inspiration now comes more from my dreams and journeys than it ever has before.  I find myself now with more designs and images in my head when I wake up. I will hopefully have time to get these down on paper now that I am not in school and have a regularly scheduled job.

I also find that I have more ideas for more physical works now. A lot of my work has been sharpie and pencil and paper. I have a desire to do more woodworking and more stone work. I love the choker that I recently made, and Cernunnos is probably one of my favorite works that I have ever done.  I have also had dreams of decorated skulls. I would love to do some art work with bone, but that is significantly harder to do. We will see what comes out of this summer. It is my last big chance to do fun things before I go off to school, so it should be pretty good.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

Leave a Reply

