Healing: My journey

So this is pretty late, I know. And it is only one H post. But since this is pretty important to me we are going to call this my H section.  I also still have no idea what to write about for I. I am open to ideas. Also, I know that I said there probably would not be blogging until after I got back from school and camping. Well I am slacking and instead of packing my shit, I decided to blog on this beautiful Beltane.

With my journey down a more shamanic path, I recently decided that I wanted to attempt a healing.  My journeying has been getting better and I wanted to attempt the next step. Healing seemed like that logical next step.  I have always been pretty good at other methods of healing and one day I want to be  a professional healer. I am, after all, going to vet school. So this is why I decided to try this new-to-me technique.

So I grounded myself for a long time, knowing that this was going to be the longest journey that I had yet taken part in.  I set myself up like I normally would for a working of this nature. I dressed in loose clothes and donned my bone choker. After a deep meditation, I started the drumming track and the journey. It started much like any other journey but when it came to applying my actual intent, I received an answer that i have never received outright before.  A resounding “No.” I thanked them and then ended the journey in confusion.  I wasnt angry, just confused. So I pulled out my animal oracle and asked why I had been refused when I tried to heal someone.  The answer was two-fold.  First, the person that I was trying to heal was not ready to be helped. He is not open to help and he needs to work on the problem himself.  Secondly, I was told that I need to do some self work before I am ready to do a healing of this magnitude. I have to heal some of my own wounds and deal with some of my own issues before I am able to heal someone like this.

This was pretty profound for me. I decided that this will be a personal goal for me. I want to be able to perform a healing. That being said, I have to heal myself first. So I am setting upon a series of journeys to do just this.

I also am doing a little bit of crafting to help the process. I made a choker to wear for healing work. It is made of hemp and has seven wood beads. Each bead has a sigil drawn onto it. This was my first time that I have used sigils and I find them quite effective.  It took a bit to get them right and to set aside my neuroses in order for me to just let them flow. Drawing them on the beads led to a bit of cussing and frustration in the beginning until I got into the swing of it. Once I was relaxed and refocused on my purpose they flowed pretty easily and feel very nice. So I completed those a couple of days ago and set them on my altar along with the piece of turquoise and the hemp to make the choker.

So last night, I crafted the necklace. The weather was not cooperating for my Walpurgisnacht plans. We had some sever thunderstorms, but I found a clear spot to go and at least meditate outside and make my offerings. The rest of the night was inside at my desk. I stated my purpose and began making the choker. I used a medium weight hemp and some macrame to craft it. With every know I tied my intention. This was my first time using knot magic, but I found that I liked it.  I strung the beads and worked them into my intent with some words. I bound the whole necklace with one final knot and a binding bead.

Once I was finished, I took the necklace on a journey with me. The results were astounding. I am very happy that I did this and I cannot wait to see where I go from here.

I am glad that I got a chance to blog again before I went camping.  I have a super busy next couple of days. Now that this is done, I am off to start packing everything. I will be altarless for two weeks. Wierd. I will get more posts out to you when I get back. I have a couple ideas for some things.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

3 responses to “Healing: My journey

  • Standing West

    “First, the person that I was trying to heal was not ready to be helped. He is not open to help and he needs to work on the problem himself. Secondly, I was told that I need to do some self work before I am ready to do a healing of this magnitude. I have to heal some of my own wounds and deal with some of my own issues before I am able to heal someone like this.”

    Two very important lessons here. And, unfortunately, two lessons some people tend to overlook when starting down the shamanic healing path. So often a person’s “affliction” is really there to show them just how much strength they really have. In our desire to help, we might actually hinder, or rob them of a tremendous opportunity they’ve been given.

    I remember a few years ago near the beginning of my journey I attempted some distance healing work on my mother who was very ill due to diabetic complications and in intensive care at the time. Naievely believing back then that any healing work was for the greatest good, I attempted to do the work, (which lasted an hour and a half), and almost threw up three times during the session. In the end, she received little if any benefit, and I received a rough but much needed – (and since then heeded)lesson. . .

    • Iolair

      It is something that I grossly overlooked to be honest. I never thought about it. I just assumed (I know what they say) that a healing was a healing, and in this case, I knew it would benefit multiple people if successful. I didn’t think about whether or not I should, just that I could. That is an important distinction that I will definitely put more consideration towards in future. Thank you for your story, I am glad that someone else has had a similar experience.

Leave a Reply

