Garb

For this week’s Pagan Blogging Project, I decided to post about a topic that was inspired by my friend over at The Crossroads Companion. He posted on twitter a while back asking what people like to wear while they work their magic. I thought it would be a good blog post and an equally good conversation.
Let’s start with what I like to wear to ritual clothes-wise. I am sure that we all prefer to go skyclad whenever possible, but it is rarely possible for this witch. I have spent my entire life in northern Ohio where is the weather is as far from predictable as one can get. I also rarely work in places where there is no chance of being discovered, and explaining why I am sitting naked under a tree is not something that I wish to do. When I am in my room, I work skyclad. But I would so much rather have to put in clothes and be able to go outside. So when I sit in a park or in the yard, I often wear simple things. I enjoy the ribbed cotton tanktops (wifebeaters, I hate that name for them) and a pair of loose but comfortable pants, usually cargo pants for the added benefit of lots of pocket room. I like things that will not restrict my movement or make me overheat. I am a hot-blooded individual, and when I am working I tend to get even hotter, so the tanktop and pants work out very well for me. Color really makes no difference to me. I often wear a black tanktop but that is just because I have the most of those.
As far as other adornments; it really depends on what I am doing. I have a silver ring that has ogham on it. It is my Druid ring that I made in an art class. I used to wear that a lot for ritual, but I have lost weight since I made it and it now is extremely loose. I have a tiger’s eye point that I associate with Old Hornie, but that is usually more every day wear than ritual. My absolute favorite thing is my other necklace that I made, but it doesn’t like to be talked about much, so I will leave it out of this. I do have a full length black cloak that I bought a few years ago. It is a beautiful, deer suede thing with a Celtic knot type clasp. Sometimes I wear that for added “witchy” feeling, but that is another thing that tends to draw unwanted attention if I am working somewhere that I might be seen.
I have a couple ideas for things that I would like to make for wear during workings, but I haven’t had the time or money to do that of late. I am happy with what I have and I find that what I wear does not much affect things for me. I have worked to make my spirituality a part of my every day life, so what I wear does not have a big effect on me.

Now I turn it over to you. I just hit 20 followers on here and I know there are some readers who don’t follow (this honestly made my day the other day). So what do you guys wear for ritual? Clothes? Jewelry? I’m curious to know my peers’ opinions on the matter.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

One response to “Garb

Leave a Reply

