Friends and Fellowship

So I am cheating a bit. I did not do a PBP post last week or last night, so I am going to kill two birds with one post. Its cheating, I know, but this is my blog and I do what I want. So here goes.

I am going to chat about Pagan fellowship tonight.  I have spent pretty much all of my practice as a solitary.  I do have my dearest friend Liz over at College Witchery and we have worked together some, but our college lives keep us pretty well apart. I am not saying that being a solitary is bad, but it does get lonely. I know what a good majority of us have felt this at one point or another.

There are a lot of complaints out there about the internet and modern paganism and fluffy bunnyism and all of that.  I know that some sites out there ( I am not mentioning any names) have made us all rageful from time to time and we can get sick of people spreading shit on the internet.  This is all true, but there is another side to that coin.  We now have access to pagans from all over the world. We have whatever knowledge that we have the patience to find. There is lots of bull to dig through, but it makes the discoveries that much more satisfying when we do find a good article, or an excellent blog. I think that, in the end, the internet was one the best things to happen to Paganism.  My buddy over at The Crossroads Companion just wrote an excellent post on this topic.

I really should thank Liz for a lot of what I have learned. She convinced me to start a blog so many years ago, and she convinced me to join Twitter this past year.  My blog is definitely not the best place to go for information. I am still young and stumbling my way through learning what I want to know. The blog has been a great way to meet people.  I met several Pagans who stumbled across my blog, and liked what they saw.  I also found other blogs which have taught me a lot and made me some friends.

Twitter was possibly the biggest shift for me.  I fought it for the longest time, but now I am extremely happy that I jumped on that bandwagon.  I creeped on some people whose blogs I followed and had chatted with through blog comments.  I made a few fast friends and then met some more random people, and I have never looked back.  I have learned so much from the people I now call friends, and I consider them my teachers.  I am not sure that I would be where I am now if it was not for their help and influence.  I have gotten dream interpretation help, pointers and so much more from them. I have even discovered more blogs to read and have had some awesome people ask me to be a tester for their products. Overall, my experience with twitter has been completely positive.

As I said, the internet is a great thing for us. We can learn so much form our peers as long as we have the clarity of mind to discover the true gems out there.  Being able to find like-minded people and form friendships is a wonderful thing.  I think that the internet is the easiest way to form fellowship with pagans in this day and age.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

2 responses to “Friends and Fellowship

  • Seillean

    Well said! I have to admit, I didn’t want to like twitter at first but yourself and the other Witches there totally made it worm it’s way into my heart. It’s been a pleasure and honor getting to “know” you good sir.

Leave a Reply

