Earbuds

So for this weeks Pagan Blog Project post, I was at a bit of a loss as to what to write about. So, the other night I went for a bit of a Spirit Walk under the full moon and I asked for some inspiration with some things. The original intent was not for blog inspiration, but I got that along with some other things. So here is this week’s post.
I’m today’s day and age, we are always wired. I love that we have the opportunity to get music from any artist we want through iTunes. It is great. However, I think that many people get too wrapped up in music. I have done it myself. I wake up, I put some music on. I walk to class, I put my earbuds in. It is really great walking to the beat of your favorite songs, but I feel like doing that too much can be detrimental.
I have recently forced myself to put my iPod away some more. To listen to nature as I walk. Anyone who has been to Findlay knows that it is flat as the tundra, and the winds there blow strong and almost all the time. So I have learned to listen to the wind. I think that putting my earbuds away, and listening to what is going on around me has helped me to connect better.
I try to meditate more often to the wind and birdsong than to music. My meditation has become much better under a tree listening to the sounds of nature. I have even gotten better at tuning out the sounds of the city around me and tuning in the natural sounds.
I think that we could all learn some more from putting away our headphones and listening to the world around us. I challenge you to go out and try it. For a week, go without your headphones and just listen to nature. I think that a lot of us could grow from it.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

6 responses to “Earbuds

  • Steve Tanner

    Excellent proposal. Some may also find that they have become so dependent upon canned music that they did not realize that they had their own music within. Technology is not a bad thing, but it provides many distractions from the real world around us and within us.

    • Iolair

      That is an excellent point, my friend. I could not agree more. Technology is great, but I think we can all tend to get too wrapped up in it. I know that some days, I do nothing but things on my laptop, and those are the most boring and tiring days that I have at school. I think we all could benefit from stepping back from technology a bit.

  • Polly (Pagan by Design)

    One of the things I loved to do from the time I was just a small kid was walk alone in the woods – following deer tracks, hoping to spot a rabbit, observing plant life and mini-ecosystems, smelling the luscious scents of the forest, and listening to the “song” of the wilderness all around me. I have a bit of a “gift” for hearing things from every direction even while someone is talking to me or my husband has the TV blaring – and I attribute it to those early walks in the woods and “learning to listen”.

    It’s so easy to get wrapped up in ourselves and the chaos around us that we lose touch with our senses – or – they are overloaded with nonsense to the point we’re drowning out everything at once. I also love music, but I love the music of the Universe even more.

    • Iolair

      Even now, that is one of my favorite things to do. I grew up in the suburbs, but my family went camping a lot, so I would wander off on my own and explore the deer trails. I still love doing that.

      That is exactly my point. I think that we are all better off if we can listen to that music. As much as I love the music on my iPod, I am learning that it is better at times to just turn it off.

Leave a Reply

