Everyday

So, I know that I said I was not sure if I would have time to get a blog post out this week.  I have 3 big tests tomorrow, and then as soon as I am done with them, my roommates and I are packing up the vehicles and road-tripping down to my property. We are camping for the first weekend of our spring break.  Since I have been studying nearly nonstop for over a week, I am feeling quite prepared for my tests and more than a little burnt out.  I also had a break this morning/afternoon and I am pretty much all packed up.  So since I have some time before I have to go see my furry friends at the Humane Society, I decided to turn out a quick post so that I can go camping without any guilt of forsaking my loyal readers (all one or two of you!).

This week, I am going to talk about witchery every day.  In this modern world, it is easy to get caught up in life and leave spirituality behind.  I know very well. With my class schedule being a minimum of 18 credit hours, plus my Pre-Vet Club responsibilities and studying and theatre, it was very easy to get lost in it.  I just recently found a workable balance (it also had something to do with moving off campus and not having a true roommate.) So for this post, I decided to ramble a bit about how I keep witchcraft in my day-to-day life. Hopefully, I can give some other people inspiration and get some good advice from those much wiser than me.

Altars. I love having an altar that I can work with.  On top of my old dresser in the corner is where I keep it. When I moved in here, I decided that this would be a place for magic and magic only.  Altars are ever changing and evolving, and I love it. It is a great representation of myself, and I keep it updated for seasons, holidays and all of that.  I think that altars should be ever changing, and that they are extremely personal.  I always have a place on the altar for Cernunnos and I keep an offering bowl as well as candles, a few crystals and all that. I always dedicate the space to the ancestors and spirits who have helped me get to where I am. Altars are one of my favorite craftings, and, one day, when I have my own house, I really want to have an altar for every room.

Prayer.  This is something that I just recently started doing. I have two prayers that I say on a daily basis, usually at night, right before going to bed.  I say them out loud before my altar after lighting a candle and burning a little bit of my rosemary smudge.  I am still deciding whether or not I like them as they are. They are common prayers that I modified to fit my purposes and myself. One for the spirits, ancestors and Mother Earth and the second is for myself.  I find that these are an excellent way to put everything for a few minutes every day and just focus on my spirituality.  I find that words tend to lose meaning when just spoken without any emotion or intent behind them.  So this is a way to work with intent as well.  I eventually want to write my own prayers, but I am nowhere near as creative with words as I am with a pencil.

Meditation.  I have always been a lover of meditation, especially since I am a worrier and an over-thinker. Meditation has been a way for me to put the world aside and just try to relax, and it is often very difficult for me. There are some days when I couldn’t meditate if my life depended on it.  I still try, however, and I feel that meditation on a daily basis has made me a better witch and a better person.  Since the weather has been nice lately, and the ground has been decently dry, I have started meditating under the big blue spruce in the backyard.  I sit with my bare feet in the dirt and my back against the trunk of the old spruce.  I have yet to have trouble meditating under his branches, and I am hoping that with the discipline of meditating daily and doing it outside whenever possible (when not muddy or under a foot of snow) that I will leave my trouble behind.

New things. I have also started trying new things in order to keep myself from slipping into a state of impractice. Journeying is the latest task that I have started working towards.  I have been mostly unsuccessful as of yet, but I will keep trying.

 

So that is how I keep witchcraft in my life on a daily basis.  How about you?

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

10 responses to “Everyday

  • Lesley Lightbody

    How wonderful that you can meditate outside under a tree – my stick with pretensions is going to take forever to grow and the only other local trees to me are in a child’s playground – but I do meditate daily…. I also say affirmations (generally in the shower) and I chat to the Goddess quite a lot in my head – I read a lot and do a daily rune and/or oracle card draw … BB bunni x

    • Iolair

      I was lucky that the house I am renting this year has the tree out back. The branches droop really low and provide a little bit of privacy even. I love that tree, I hope I can find one like him wherever I go next year.

      Thank you for sharing your daily practices.

  • Keltikmystique

    Finding a balance, is not always an easy thing. Life likes to throw curve balls, and unforeseen daily hurdles, it seems. I work full time, and with ongoing daily stuff, well… I struggle with finding time on a daily basis to practice my spirituality, and I applaud those of you that can. Great post!

    • Iolair

      I hear you. It was really tough getting to where I am, and now that I am used to this schedule, it it changing in a few months. I am going to try to stick with it though. I feel so much better when I do these things.

      Thank you very much for reading and commenting. I am glad you enjoyed the post

  • Annette Breaux

    It is very easy to get so busy with life that we neglect our spiritual selves. And you don’t have to be a college student either. I am a housewife and priestess and even I get run down. I like your ideas. I have altars in my bedroom and living room and in the process of making one in my kitchen. I at least talk to the gods on a daily basis and give thanks. It is so easy to take every blessing we have forgranted.

  • Polly (Pagan by Design)

    I can really relate to the “obstacles” that get in the way. I’m forever seeking “alone time” in my house…or even a semi-clean space that my husband hasn’t claimed for all of his (worthless? yeah if you ask me) computer and electronic stuff, hundreds of comics, and general messiness…ugh.

    • Iolair

      lol. I really have no idea what it will be like when I have my own place and a family. That is so far off, I havent even begun to consider that. Having 5 roommates though does make paganism interesting. They aren’t opposed to it, but they are curious and there are just some things that I don’t like to have to explain

  • sara magnuson

    What a great post! It’s inspiring to read what others do and that we all go through the same struggles of maintaining balance in our lives. Thank you so much for sharing these things and I always look forward to your new posts.

    much love and luck to you!
    sara

    • Iolair

      Thanks Sara. Your comment makes me happy. I am very surprised to have so many comments. I am glad that people are willing to share what they do to keep spirituality in their lives. I did not realize me wee little blog would have such a big comment turnout today. It really made my day

      Thanks for the love and support. It is appreciated more than you know

Leave a Reply

