Dirt

With this strange weather, I have been able to spend more time outside lately. I have taken to almost daily meditation underneath the big blue spruce in my backyard.  It is a great place because the branches droop the ground almost all around except for the “door.”  I do a lot of my work under the tree and, I have made a pact to spend more time there. so in meditation the other day, I had my feet sunk into the soft, loamy soil underneath the tree and was thoroughly enjoying my “rooted” meditation.  This was the inspiration for this weeks post.  Dirt.  Which turned out to be a lot harder to write about than I originally thought.

So simple, but so integral.  Dirt is an important part to any earth-bound path.  Whether you are growing a garden or spending your ritual time out in the woods. You are going to be getting yourself dirty, and that is possibly one of may favorite parts of being a witch.  I love getting elbow deep into good, rich soil when I help plant my family’s garden every spring and when I get a new herb that I have to pot.  I always think it an unsuccessful gardening venture, if I do not have dirt everywhere.

I personally believe that feet are supposed to be dirty.  They are not supposed to be manicured and pretty. They should be hard and calloused and ugly  Shoes are great for keeping us safe, and I understand when they are necessary, but I much prefer to spend as much time as possible without shoes; in direct contact with the ground.  Whenever possible, I try to do any outdoor ritual or meditation work without shoes. I just feel so much better connected when I can wriggle my toes in the dirt or grass and feel it.  Does anyone else feel like this?  I love at the end of summer when my feet are calloused so thick that I can walk over broken glass with no ill effects.

Whenever I have the element representations present, I prefer to use a handful of dirt for Earth as opposed to the various alternatives that you could use.  It just feels better to me, what better to represent Earth, than a piece of the mother herself.  I know that soil can be used in the consecration of tools as Earth the element and as a grounding factor.  I know that certain dirt has certain properties.  Especially graveyard dirt, but I do not know much about that off the top of my head. I have never used graveyard dirt. I do however have a little jar stored away that was a gift from a great friend.  Like I said, I do not know much about the use of graveyard dirt, so I do not really want to talk about that.  I have used soil from the yard, but I prefer to use soil from somewhere that is sacred to me.  I actually want to harvest some dirt from my family’s property the next time I go.  I wanted to keep it in a jar so  that I can carry a small piece of it with me when I go off the the Caribbean for vet school.  It is sentimental, I know, but it will help me when I am dropped in a completely new environment.

This got me thinking about different dirt.  The dirt here is surely not the same as the dirt that I have back home, though it is pretty close.  Everywhere you go, the dirt is different. There are different components, particle sizes, microorganisms moisture, etc.  It determines what plants grow there.  Sitting under that tree, in silent meditation, I found myself wondering what the dirt is like on St. Kitts. (I was probably channeling the tree a bit).  I have never been to a tropical location, so it will be completely new to me.  New earth. New plants. New everything. It is kind of a scary concept, but I know I will make it.

So this was a little rambling. But I got the inspiration sitting under my tree and I promised the tree that I would write about dirt.  If you read this, tell me what you think about dirt.  What is the dirt like in your neck of the woods? How do you use dirt in your craft?

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

2 responses to “Dirt

  • Polly (Pagan by Design)

    For a difficult subject, I think you did a fine job digging up the dirt of the matter 😉

    When I was a kid, I went barefoot everywhere, but somewhere over the years I noticed how many spiders (really big – okay, so not even as big as a quarter but still big to me – hairy creepy ones) are scurrying across the ground just out of sight – or the nasty Daddy Longlegs ones that – well, just, “eww”. Needless to say, my feet are pretty wimpy now (but they never touch spiders – that would just put me into shock I think).

Leave a Reply

