Crafting

This blog was originally founded to chronicle my pagan crafting.   In an idea world, I would love to be totally self sufficient.  Where I make or grow all my own materials and use it.  I know that this is not a realistic dream, because I will never have that much time on my hands as a veterinarian (not that I would want it any other way. A veterinarian is my true dream, and any time spent at that job would make my very happy.)  If you have read any of my blog, you know that crafting is important to me and my spirituality, and I that something is so much more meaningful when it is handmade.  Especially if you made it yourself and have your own heart and soul woven into the item.  Some people are happy buying everything from stores or the internet, and if that works for you, then great, but I am not okay with that.   I am okay purchasing some things and supporting witchy vendors, but I would like most of my stuff to be mine own.  For this post, I decided to chat about the craft projects and dreams that I have.

My Craft List

Items soon to come

  • Gifts

I have some great friends out there. I love them so much, and I owe them a hell of a lot more.  I have learned a lot from them and I am not sure I would be where I am without them in my life.  So I have some present ideas, and I am in the process of planning/making those.  That will probably be the next craft to come out of the works here.  But of course, being that they are gifts, their identities will remain secretive until they arrive with their recipients, then it is up to them as to whether or not to share them with the world.

  • A field bag

I originally got the idea and inspiration for this from Liz.  I want to make myself a bag for witchery. Find some canvas fabric that I like, cut it out, embroider it (this part I have no hope of doing on my own), sew it together, line it.  I would make it to fit me perfectly and with the specifications that I want.  It will have lots of pockets to hold all my witchy bits so I have a convenient carrying apparatus when I need to go out in the woods to do some work. Ever since Liz put the idea in my head, I have dreamed about this bag.  Hopefully I will get this one in this summer before I go away to more school.

  • Incenses

I have various ideas for recipes floating around my head. I have plants visiting me in my dreams.  I think it is time I start working with them on a deeper level. I want to make my own loose incenses for various purposes. I want it for offerings, for ritual work, for journeying.  I have so many ideas that sometimes I have the bad desire to skip classes one day and just grind up plant matter and mix incense.  Hopefully, this summer I can do some crafting and work on perfecting the theoretical recipes that I have been jotting down all over the place ( I really should centralize those so I do not lose anything).  I have some components here that I am going to start working with when I have a free weekend night here or there.

  • Woodworking

I dabbled in woodcarving and burning. I am not the best at it, but I would really like to change this.  I have a beautiful set of carving knives that my grandmother bought me and I have lots of wood pieces to work with.  The only constraint is time.  I tend to fall into a zone when woodworking, where all that is there is me, my knife, and the shape that I am discovering in the wood.  I would like to carve beads as well as spirit animal vessels.  I would also like to experiment with different woods since I have mostly worked with pine, basswood and mahogany.

  • Besom

I have wanted to craft a besom for some time.  I even have a great handle to use for it. I am not going traditional, but I am using an old, knobbly walking stick that I found on my family’s property and have had for years. It is a beautiful piece of sycamore.  I just need to decide what I want to make the bristles from and how I want to bind it and bless it and all of that fun stuff.  This may be a back burner project, but I am hoping not.

More Long-term ideas

  • Prayer Beads

As I have grown and developed in my spirituality, I have found I perform more devotionals and offerings to my spirits.  I think that a set of prayer beads that I have crafted and strung would be awesome.  Now, when it comes to projects like this, I usually wait until I get some inspiration.  You know, in a dream or during meditation.  This project will not be an exception since it is something that would be so personal.  I haven’t received any inspiration about it other than the general idea of making some prayer beads, so this will probably not be a project done very soon.  It also does not help, that I want to craft all or most of the beads myself from wood or bone or antler, and I would want to spin the string myself, or have a dear friend spin it.  It is mostly my own neuroticness that is holding me back here.

  • Oils

I really want to mix my own magickal oils and such. Unfortunately, this is an expensive venture since essential oils are so pricey. So, due to el fundsarelow, this is a project on the back burner. Like the incenses, I have several recipe ideas that are jotted down to try once I have an actual job and actual paycheck.

  • Salves

I really want to craft my own salves.  Mostly for healing, but there are also a couple magickal unguents planned. I really want to make some general healing salves, but I would like to focus on some veterinary healing. After all, that is what I am doing with the rest of my life. I would like to work with beeswax to start off with, so I am holding off until I am settled enough to find a local apiary to get wax from.  Once, I am comfortable with beeswax, then I would like to move on to using rendered tallow from animals.  So due to costs and neuroticness, this is a back-burner project.

  • A drum

The very idea of crafting my own drum sends chills down my spine.  I have recently been reading about drum making over on Shamanic Druidry, and I have decided that if I could go and make a drum in that fashion like they describe, I would be such a happy little witch.  This is definitely a project for later because, right now, there is no time or monetary backing to partake in a journey like this.  Plus, at this point in time, I am not sure that I would be able to donate the time and energy that I feel is necessary to birth a drum.

Those are my major crafting conquests that I am planning.  I also would like to put work into the artwork page on this blog. I have a lot of artwork that I have not shared on my blog, and I think that it is important for me to do so. Most of it is up on deviantArt, but I think it would be nice to have it here too.  So there is my crafting list

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

4 responses to “Crafting

  • Polly

    Love the post and the inspiring ideas! I, too, would rather be self-sufficient in many ways (growing herbs, making incenses and oils, etc). I love crafting things (especially with wood) and hoping my husband will buy a jigsaw, sander, etc, or even just a circular saw for me – maybe some other tools as well.

    I feel lucky because we bought our own home last summer and this year I will be able to finally create that herb garden (and the veggie garden) I have longed for in my OWN yard! 🙂

    I look forward to reading more of your blog posts.

    • Iolair

      Thanks!
      I love growing my own things (or finding them if they are native species). Still being in college, my garden stays in pots to remain mobile, but once I am done I will definitely have a massive garden. Actually, I have a dream of having a greenhouse like the one in Practical Magic.
      I hope that your garden goes well.

  • Annette Breaux

    My goal for myself and my coven is to make all tools we need this year for ritual. I hope we can stick to it!

Leave a Reply

