Book of Shadows

 

I know you all recognize this. When we think of books of shadows, I am sure this is an image that would jump to many of our minds.  We all have an image of a huge, dusty old tome bound in some kind of leather with yellowed parchment paper full of beautiful calligraphy and illustrations. Stuffed full of every secret of our craft.  The idea gives you chills of excitement doesn’t it? Well this third post of the Pagan Blogging Project is about the Book of Shadows/Grimoire that we all dream about.

I have yet to meet a pagan who does not dream of a book like the one I described above.  I am no exception.  We have all planned and schemed and had many a fantasy about our own Book of Shadows.  We have all also tried the stand-ins for it. 3-ring binders, notebooks, legal pads, and even a trusty ol’ flash drive o’ shadows.  They work functionally, but they do not come close to what we desire.

In high school, there was a project in which we had to make a book. Being a young pagan still in my Wiccan phase, I made a little book of shadows. You can see photos of that over on DeviantArt. It was a small project, but very important. I learned calligraphy for it and learned that I really enjoyed it. It strengthened my resolve to one day have the book of shadows of my dreams.

I am going to one day make that book. Brahms Bookworks has some amazing things that are exactly what I picture when I see the book of my dreams.  The downside, the price. They put a lot of effort into making those books and you get what you pay for.  I know that most of us cannot afford any of what is sold here.

So, to my dream.  My ideal Book of Shadows ( I like the term Grimoire better, it sounds less 90’s television show, but this is a B week so we are going to continue with Book of Shadows.) It will be handmade. If you have read any of my blog, you know that I have a desire to hand make things.  Things that are handmade by me are much more meaningful to me, so I want to make my Book. I want to take a class in book binding at one point. I feel that would be very important and useful to me. I would also, hand write the entire thing. That goes along with handmaking. There is power in the written word, and just image how great that book would be when it is completely hand done in calligraphy and illuminated lettering. The pages would be parchment. That is just personal preference. I would like to handpress paper for it, but i think that might get too thick. (If I make an herbal grimoire, there are ideas for that with pressed paper. But that’s another blog post.) It would be filled with my own illustrations and artwork to further personalize it.  Never, ever will there be computer printed images or text in my book.  I think that takes away from any Book of Shadows.  Finally, the pages would be removeable in some way. This makes it so that I can be neurotic about the organization, and if I make a mistake in an artwork or in penmanship, I can remove that page and start over.

So there it is. Can you picture it? There very idea makes me excited. I think that once I am a veterinarian and I have spent years at my craft and have the money to spend on this project, I will sit down and do it.  It would be an amazing thing to pass down to my children if they continue on in witchcraft.  One day, I will have a Book of Shadows, and it will be exactly what we all dream of.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

2 responses to “Book of Shadows

  • larissaclause

    I’ve made my own books before and it really is simply rewarding. I hope you do pursue making your own Grimoire! Keep us posted!

    • Iolair

      Really. How did they work out for you? If you don’t mind me asking, what did you use for binding and paper and all of that?

      I will definitely keep every one posted. Although this project will not happen for many years.

Leave a Reply

