Dreams

I do not usually like to share dreams like this, but I have had this one several times and I really would like some help with interpretations and just general feedback.  I think I have some good regular readers who can either help me or direct to me someone who can help me.  I have had this dream at least three times in sleep and it has happened twice during deep meditation over the past two months or so. The most recent one was in the early hours Saturday morning.  It seems to grow a little bit more every time I have it or sometimes it is just a certain segment. So here goes.

I am walking naked through a forest. It is a very old forest that I am familiar with in my dreams. It is night time and I am a little scared of the dark, but I continue walking.  There is a light in the forest that is drawing my attention, pulling me towards it.  I find the source of the light in a clearing. It is a campfire.

I warily approach the fire to find a man seated across from me.  I cant see his face, but I know he is masculine.  He is shrouded in a dark cloak of either green or brown and he has antlers on his head.  I get a sense of power from him, ancient and wise, but still very strong.  He beckons me forward and I seat myself cross-legged across the fire from him.  I stare into the fire for some time and then the man clears his throat and I look up at him, into the dark shadows beneath the hood of the cloak.  He reaches across the fire with a small earthenware bowl, offering it to me. I take it from him and sniff its contents, my mind tells me to be cautious, but my heart beats excitedly.  It is a dark, steaming liquid that smells earthy and herby with possibly a hint of whiskey.  I look into the shadows under the hood and see sparkling eyes there. I understand that he wants me to drink what is in the bowl.

With one last look into those eyes, I drain the contents of the bowl. I cant even describe the taste, just the feelings that came with it.  The bowl fell to the ground and shattered.  My head swam and I felt almost drunk, but it was a good feeling. I felt like I was being pulled from my body in the dream.  My body falls backward and I am caught by two pairs of strong hands. I cant see who caught me as my vision is swimming and my mind is reeling.  I dont know how long I lay back on the earth, but I could feel the ground beneath me and the life in the forest around me.  I felt every tree and rock and animal around me. It was terrifying and exciting.

My vision came back into some focus as I saw the antlered man standing over me.  I saw them as if I was a little drunk, where things still swam a bit, but I could focus when I tried.  I could still only see the sparkling eyes beneath the cowl as the same strong hands who caught me then held me down.  I tried to struggle, but the hands gently and firmly held me in place.  Then the antlered man pressed something to my right pectoral and all i felt was an explosion of pain.  I have never felt so much pain in my entire life.  I screamed and struggled futilely against the hands holding me down.  In the haze of the liquid and pain, I was vaguely aware that I was being branded. I felt angry and confused as the hot iron seared my flesh.  Then the pain was over and the iron was being pulled away.  The hands still held me down as I shook and struggled to breathe. I was crying and shaking all over.

The antlered man reappeared in front of me.  He said something that I couldn’t understand and then produced another bowl. This one, he dipped his finger into and proceeded to paint my face with whatever was in the bowl. I laid still and felt the hands release me as the man finished what he was doing.  He then stood up and I could see teeth shining in a smile beneath the hood.  I felt very confused as my body tremored in the aftermath of being drugged and branded.

The antlered man offered me a hand and led me to a stream that ran through the clearing.  He pointed to a part of the creek where the water pooled and formed a calm area where the water was smooth.  I looked into the water and saw my reflection.  On my chest was the brand of a familiar design and my face was painted with blue warpaint. I stared at my reflection, unsure of what to say or do.

I turn to look at the antlered man, but he is gone.  I turn further to see that across the clearing, there is not a forest anymore. But a tall hedge formed into a wall with a stone archway in it.  Being curious, I walk over to the archway. I notice the hedge is juniper and grows at least a dozen feet into the air.  It is hedge maze that is bathed in moonlight.

In all the dreams that got as far as the maze, I enter it and begin to try and solve it. I have never made it to the center yet, but as I walk through the maze I find beads on the ground.  They are long bone and horn hairpipes and smaller turquoise beads. As I try and solve the maze, I collect all the beads that I see.

And that is the dream. Like I said before, I have had it several times and I am still not sure what to make of all of it.  I think I have figured out a few things, but I will keep interpretations to myself for now so that my readers can reach their own conclusions and tell me what they think.

Oh and the creepiest part of this whole thing. The design that is branded onto my chest is the design that I put onto the wooden plaque to the Horned God that I made a little before Samhain.

So what do you make of this?

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

12 responses to “Dreams

  • greycatsidhe

    Wow. That is an amazing dream. To have it repeated with the same details… I believe you are right to pay such attention to it. I do not think all dreams are so significant, but when you remember with such clarity, feel such power, and especially when they are repeated…

    To be branded usually shows ownership. How do you feel about this? The whole thing seems very much like some sort of initiation. Have you called to the Horned God in a way that opened you up to such an act? Although drugging and branding are not nice things for people to do to each other without permission, the Gods often do as they please and seem to challenge those who seek a higher purpose.

    You speak of a maze and yet the wood plaque shows a labyrinth. A maze is difficult to navigate as it is full of wrong turns and dead ends. A labyrinth has a clear destination and path. It is not meant to be frustrating – rather, meditative. If you can dream lucidly, perhaps you should recall your plaque and approach the hedge as a labyrinth rather than a maze. Perhaps relaxing and trusting in that design is all you need? Another approach may be to visit the destination in trance. I would have to do that as I have a difficult time controlling my dreams.

    Another possibility is that, if it really is a maze, the dream suggests you have things to navigate through in your life to reach your next level of spiritual involvement.

    Dreams and trance work is so personal, but I would be very interested to know how you progress! Thanks so much for sharing.

    • Iolair

      Thanks for your input, I really appreciate it.

      I have been developing a relationship with the Horned God over the past several months. I think things really clicked when I made the plaque because that was a very spiritual experience for me. I don’t know what would have opened me up to this kind of dream. I am excited but kind of nervous. I have had dreams of the Horned God before, but never like this, and I have never thought that I was called to by him or any deity before. It is a little scary.

      I agree with the distinction between the maze and labyrinth. The labyrinth on the plaque is almost an instant deep meditation for me just by tracing it with my finger. It has helped me before, and I do enjoy it. I want to try some trance work but I don’t have much experience there so i have been mostly relying on dreams mostly. It was mere chance I think when this came up in meditation.

      It is also confusing because this is a very trying time in my personal life. So I don’t know if this is a challenge that I have to work through spiritually to help me in mundane life? There are so many facets and I think that if I could do what you recommend with the labyrinth, I might understand better. I dont know if that sounds legit or not. This is a totally new experience for me.

      Again, thank you so much for your input. I am new to deity work and this is quite the adventure. I will keep things updated as much as I can. My finals are over here in two weeks and then I will have a whole month to work on this without worrying about schoolwork.

  • Granthrax

    That ahs to be one of the most full-on dreams I have ever read of anyone having, ever, and to have it recurrently… WOW!

    I’m afarid I don’t have anything much in the way of useful commentary for you. I think it is telling that this apparent ‘Initiation’ you’re going through in the dreams is difficult, trying, and downright terrifying at times. YIt’s my personal opinion that walking whatever form of the crooked path we take is not meant to be ‘easy’.

    Maybe not quite so date-rapey as this dream, but definately requiring dedication, and work. The dreams could be an act of your subconcious showing you that yes, you are ready for a stronger relationship with the Horned God, that it’s necessary even, and that you need to do whatever it takes?

    As greycatsidhe has already said, dreams are insanely subjective and personal; but I love hearing about peoples dreams and sharing my own – so thanks for posting this, and I hope this comment is helpful in some way.

  • Caeruleuslady

    I know you posted a while ago and you’ve probably figured it out by now, but here are my thoughts on it:

    He wanted you to drink it, but he didn’t force you, because only you can choose to take the first step, even if things happen beyond your control after. The draught you drank let you connect with life, the universe, nature, whatever. It was a gift. Shamans abd priests did and still do drink and take drugs to induce states of higher consciousness and/or awareness to magical things. The cup/bowl breaking is a good thing in my opinion. It means only you and the god can access that particular connection. In a handfasting ceremony, the lovers often drink from a new glass that is broken after they each drink from it.

    I think the branding is basically him claiming you outright after you took the first step abd ge gave you the draught/gift. Symbolically the branding could have been painful because sometimes painful things happen in order for things to progress.

    The maze might be the maze from your plaque(which is quite lovely). I think maybe you might need to finish collecting beads before you find the center, possibly enough for a necklace or something? They could also represent little beads(bits or pearls) of wisdom acquired on your journey.

    • Caeruleuslady

      Sorry for all the typos.F

    • Iolair

      I appreciate any and all guidance and opinions, no matter when. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on it. You kind of hit everything right on the head. This is what I have been thinking about the dream. The only thing that I have figured out for sure is the bead part. I actually had been dreaming/planning a bone choker for quite some time. I finally put the money aside and bought the supplies. I did not share that on the blog because I just did not feel right doing so.
      I have actually decided that if I ever get a new tattoo, then it will be the design from the plaque (I am glad that you like it).
      I have worked with the dream a little more, but I have not gotten any further. In the process, I have learned a lot more though and I think that this was a big turning point for me.

      • Caeruleuslady

        Maybe you’ll have an easier time working with it after you finish your necklace?

        I have to say, it’s pretty refreshing to see someone dealing with the stag horned god, or for me, Cernunnos, who doesn’t mention his raging, throbbing, erections…

      • Iolair

        I actually have finished the necklace. I wear it for special workings and journeys now. I haven’t had the time to attempt working with that dream though. I will be working on it more now that I am out of school for the summer.
        I am glad that you think so. I know that Cernunnos is a fertility god, but I have never dealt with him in that aspect. I have always worked with him and a gate-keeper/watcher spirit. He has helped guide me to where I am.

      • caeruleuslady

        I think the fertility connection has been a smidge over emphasized because of the lord and people confusing the stag horned god with pan and similar dieties and/or beings. There’s a whole lot more to nature and the life cycle than sex and/or fertility.

        It’s neat the you use it for workings. I like how it’s connected to your dream. That’s really cool. Maybe the beads and labrynith aren’t directly connected. Maybe he just wanted you to make your necklace?

  • Hawke

    The image above the horned one is a labyrinth not a maze. One may lose one’s way in a maze, not in a labyrinth – there is only one way, and no dead ends.

    • caeruleuslady

      I’m not sure whether the differences matter in his dream. Since dreams have a psychologial aspect, if we consider that his mind may not subconsciously recognize the difference between the two, it could turn a labrynith into a maze. It could also mean that his way of looking at it is symbolic of his confusion trying to find his way through multiple paths when there is only one that he can choose and that is why he is lost.

Leave a Reply

