Blog Series Opening: Animal Energies

Disclaimer: This is what I feel and have come to learn about animal spirits, it may not apply to everyone and may not be what someone else believes or follows.

I believe that all life on this planet carries its own unique energy.  Each life has its own wisdom to impart and we can tap into that if we know how.  In this blog series, I am going to focus on what we can learn from Animals.  I will focus on one animal with each post as I learn about them myself.  I have always had a connection with animals as long as I can remember and wanted to become a veterinarian.  I want to be an advocate for those who don’t have a voice (not that animals don’t have a voice, most people just cannot hear it).

As a kid, I was always reading animal books and learning as much as I possibly could.  My parents refused to spend money at the zoo for the tours because I could not only tell more information about the animals, but I could point out where the zoo people had their facts wrong.  Since I found my pagan path, my attraction and love of animals has stayed with me.  Channeling the energy and wisdom of the animal kingdom has always come easily to me.  I want to share this talent with people (even though I have next to nobody reading my blog).  I am going to put what I have learned out there and in the process I will learn more and receive feedback.

Animals can be used in many ways.  Spirit guides, healing, or in an energy channeling sort of way.  Each animal can be a teacher to us, can hold an important lesson that we should learn, or can just be a friend when we need one.  I have made use of animal energies much throughout my life, even as a kid when I did not even realize I was doing it.  I would imagine I was an animal or think of an animal to help me get through tough times or just to get my mind off bad things

Different animals give us different lessons, energies and medicine, and not everyone will get the same thing from an animal.  I am a biology and animal science student, and I also have a love for animal behavior.  I base a lot of my animal energies off of not only their mythological and historical significance, but also their natural behaviors and biology.  I often use an animal statue as a fetish to help channel the energy.  Or quite often, since I am artistically inclined, I will do a symbolic drawing of the animal that I am working on at the time, and I find that very effective.

Now that we have background information behind us, I can start some individual animals. The next post will be an animal that helped me a lot over the past two years, the Boar.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

3 responses to “Blog Series Opening: Animal Energies

Leave a Reply

