On The Wings of the Storm

So today in Northeast Ohio we had some pretty bad storms go through.  The storm was not as bad in my neighborhood as in some other areas of Ohio. A tornado touched down several counties over.  In my neck of the woods we had A neighbor’s tree was torn in half by the winds and we had hail that was about the size of a silver dollar.  My entire deck was covered in a coat of hail about an inch thick and our plants were all torn apart by it.  Fortunately, nothing was damaged beyond repair, and all my herbs will survive the icy onslaught of nature.

While the storm was starting , I stood on my front porch and listened and watched the storm roll in.  It was a mighty storm.  It was a very spiritual storm for me.  The wind battered everything and I stood on my porch while the wind whipped around and buffeted me.  I stood there as the rain started to whip around and the power of the storm grew.  the rain came down in sheets driven by gale-force winds.  I lost myself in the elements swirling around.  Lightning flashed across the sky and thunder shook the whole house.  Hail started its own drumming rhythm on the roof to complement the rain.  I swayed with the wind.  It slowed down once and I came down off the high long enough to rescue my mom’s potted flowers that were right in front of the porch then it started up again.  I was again lost in the rhythm of the storm.

The storm lasted about 20 minutes.  It seemed like much longer and I came out of it energized and refreshed, my skin covered in goose-bumps.  It is in storms like this that the wild gods and spirits of nature make themselves known and that I feel very close to them.  I have not been part of a storm this good in a long time, and I forgot how spiritual they can be.  Hopefully we have more storms like this (but minus the hail. I don’t think my poor herbs can take another beating like that).  No matter what, I am always amazed by the fury that nature can unleash.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

Leave a Reply

