Iolair

I have always had an attraction to Eagles.  My best friend and I used to play with her Druid Animal Oracle all the time when we were young(er) witchlings and my card was always the eagle.  Iolair.  That card came up in nearly every reading we did for me and ever since, Iolair has held a special place in my heart.  He is a spirit guide of mine (hence the name By Stag and Eagle).   As of late, I have been so entrenched in my studies for school that I have had very little time to be witchy.  I have tried to incorporate small things such as meditation into my daily routine, and I even managed to get a batch of holy water brewing.  I have really lost touch with witchiness since I started this year at Findlay, but it is coming back, and I am being welcomed with open arms (er wings)

I have always had some trouble meditating. Often times conditions need to be just right for me to successfully meditate and get a good calm out of it.  With this and my lack of spare time, I find it difficult to be motivated to meditate.  So I tell myself that it is good for me to commune and ground, and I do it because I feel like I have to.  Last week, I woke up with this hard to describe feeling. It was an urge to meditate, it was a feeling that it was very necessary for me to find time in my life even if it was a few minutes a day.  I couldn’t explain where the feeling was coming from, but I didn’t really question.  I started meditating almost daily.  Nothing much came of it at first, other than being a little less stressed because I was able to ground out a lot of the excess negativity.  Meditating outside works even better, but there really isn’t anywhere on campus that I can do that and I don’t have time or money to drive to the park just for meditation.

Last night, I put some drumming on my iPod and turned it up like I do most times when I meditate.  I sat on the floor and extinguished all the lights.  I opened my window and pulled out the screen to welcome in any visitors.  This is my normal routine when meditating in my room. I sat and allowed myself to sink within myself. I grounded well then just relaxed, very content.  Then I felt something. I wasn’t sure what but it felt welcoming, familiar and warm towards me.  I tried to stay focused on my meditation and was rewarded.  I felt a weight on my shoulder, and great power in the room.  I asked aloud “Who are you.”  There was silence for bit in which I patiently waited, completely unaware of my physical surroundings (apparently there was a big party next door last night that I did even notice until I came out of meditation).  After waiting and holding my focus, the weight lifted from my shoulder and the word “Iolair” reverberated inside my head.  I smiled and felt myself being pulled on. It felt as if my weight was lifted from where I was sitting. I actually felt wind on my face.  I felt comfortable, at home content in the talons of my spirit guide.  It was such a good feeling.  When I came out of it I was exhausted but more at ease than I have felt in quite some time.  It feels good to know that I  have Iolair watching over me.

Now I know that I should continue on with my meditation, and why I felt compelled to do so.  I will continue with my regimen in hopes that I get to know my guides better and that it continued to improve my life and spirituality.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

Leave a Reply

