A Long Winter’s Nap

Winter is surely upon us, and the earth is locked in a long, cold sleep.  Here in northern Ohio, we are feeling it quite well seeing as it has not stopped snowing nigh about two days.  I love winter, but many of us feel the need to sleep a lot more than we normally would, and in many cases we do sleep more than usual.  This stems from an innate need for mammals hibernate in the winter time.  As humans, we clearly do not hibernate, but we do tend to sleep more.

Sleep usually means dreaming; but for me that is not so.  I do dream on occasion, and have tried to start a dream journal, but I dream so infrequently that the book was little more than a dust collector on my shelf.  My dearest of friends Ancasta has a similar problem.  So she came up with the idea to make some kind of dream bag for each of us to take to school.  That would help to increase the number of dreams that we have.  We would also get better use out of our dream journals. It would be nice closing to our time together over winter break.  I give her credit for the idea, and between the two of us we came up with several very cool ideas for it.  After some time planning, we went to the local craft store and our favorite are new age store.  It was so much fun shopping for the stuff, but that is a story for another post.  At the craft store we found several bolts of fabric on sale and we bought several half yards and remnant pieces for use in this project and others.

For this dream pouch, we chose a light blue and cream paisley-esque fabric that looked very dreamy.  We also got some nice cotton batting to aid in stuffing and sealing the pouch.  I chose a crescent moon shape for my pouch to represent night time and bring some goddess into it.  For the stuffing, we used mostly the same things with some slight variations as to our preferences.  At our local new age store, we picked up some stones to put in.  A nice little piece of moonstone and a chunk of lapis lazuli both spoke to me so i chose them to put into the sachet.  We included some herbs to help with the purpose.  Some chamomile from a tea bag, some rosemary from the plant that we picked out together over the summer, some lavender from Liz’s own plants, and a little bit of nutmeg to help keep the whole thing grounded.  Ancasta had some very nice aromatherapy oil that had a blend of peppermint, rosemary, citrus and eucalyptus oils.  We both cut out little circles of batting to represent the moon further and anointed them with the oil.  We cleansed and blessed everything by candlelight and burning some of that wonderful oil.  Once the bags were stuffed we sealed them together.  This is what I had after our time.

After making it, I wanted nothing more than to just crash.  Both of us had put so much energy into the making of these that we just went to our respective beds and crashed hard.  I barely had enough time to put the pouch under my pillow before sleep overtook me.  I did not have any dreams that I remember, but I was so tired that I do not think dreaming was possible.

Looking to the future, I am excited to have more dreams and to keep my journal.  I have two dreams recorded in my journal from the past and they were both very good ones.  I look forward to more.

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

Leave a Reply

