Me and My New Blog

As the Gregorian calendar moves us into a new year, I find myself wanting to start clean with my blog.  My previous blog in blogger “With My Lantern Held Aloft,” was very nice, but I had quite a bit of trouble keeping up with it.  So, as part of starting anew, I am starting a new blog on a new server.

There will be a couple purposes to this blog.  Primarily, this will be a blog about paganism and modern day witchcraft as it applies to myself, a young male witch.  Also to supplement the blog of the podcast that my dear friend and I will be starting up soon, to be an academic blog on various witchcraft topics that come across my brain.  I will also use this as a medium to get some of my pagan artwork out there for feedback, because I absolutely love feedback.  This will not be a completely ranty blog in which I spout my misanthropy and displeasure for much of modern society, However I cannot guarantee that it will be completely free of the occasional rant. I will try to keep them to the minimum.

Now that I told you what this is going to be about, I will tell y’all a little bit about myself.  As I said above, I am a young, male witch.  I am from northern Ohio in the United States and I attend the University of Findlay and I major in pre-veterinary medicine, animal science and biology with a minor in chemistry.  As this would suggest, I am a very busy individual, but I always find time for witchiness.  I have a great affinity for animals, and this has led me down a very shamanic path.  Druidry and Native American spirituality are the things that greatly interest me because of their shamanic natures.  I am a very artistic individual and I love making things with my hands.  I believe that something is far more special and powerful if you made it yourself than if you just go buy it from your local store.  There is so much to be learned about yourself and the world around you in making things for yourself and learning how to do it.

As for the title of my blog, I believe that it deserves a little explanation.  As I said above, I follow a very shamanic path.  Shamanism, as well as a lot of paganism, involves the use of spirit guides and such.  I have used many animal spirits for workings, but the stag and the eagle both have been very important in my journey. Not to say that other animals have not been prominent, its just that those two have always been very high on the totem pole (tehehehehe.  that, my dear friends, is a pun. If you did not laugh, kindly leave my blog, because that is funny).  The eagle itself was my very first spirit guide and my namesake.  Iolair; pronounced yullar; is my name in magickal work. and came about from some work with the Druid Animal Oracle. It means eagle in gaelic.

For a final note.  Those who read my blog please comment.  I absolutely love feedback, and love to read what people have to say about my writing and artwork.  So even if it is just a short quip, leave a comment. thank you very much.

Blessed Be

Iolair Stormwing

About Iolair

My name is Iolair. I am from Northern Ohio, but I'm currently in the Caribbean going to veterinary school. I have a fascination for nature and the Old Gods. My blog is an exploration into the winding path that I follow. Shamanism, herbalism, folk lore, and witchcraft of all kinds are just some of the topics that I love to explore. Always open to chat and learn all that I can. View all posts by Iolair

4 responses to “Me and My New Blog

  • crookedways

    I have only just found your blog, but I’m glad I did… I look forward to reading about your journey… I too live in Ohio, I moved here just over two years ago from England… It’s always nice to find others relatively close by… 🙂

    • Iolair

      Wow. England… Ive been once and I loved it. I agree about finding people close by. It can sometimes get lonely. If you dont mind me asking, whereabouts in Ohio?

      • crookedways

        Of course I don’t mind, I’m in Galloway, near Columbus. What about you? Where about’s in England did you visit?

      • Iolair

        I am in Findlay at the University.
        We did a 10 day tour in high school. Avebury, Stonehenge, the Cotswolds, Glastonbury, Bath, Stratford, and London. It was really cool, and I really want to go back one day.

Leave a Reply

